About TEDx, an independently organised event

TED is a non-profit organisation devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. Started as a conference in California 26 years ago, TED has grown to support world-changing ideas with many initiatives. TED conferences require the world's leading thinkers and doers to give the talk of their lives in 18 minutes or less. TED speakers have included Roger Ebert, Sheryl Sandberg, Bill Gates, Elizabeth Gilbert, Benoit Mandelbrot, Philippe Starck, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Brian Greene, Isabel Allende and former UK Prime Minister Gordon Brown. Three major TED events are held each year: the TED Conference takes place every spring in Vancouver, Canada in parallel with TEDActive, in Whistler, Canada, and the TEDGlobal Conference takes place each summer in Edinburgh, Scotland.

On TED.com, talks from TED conferences are shared with the world for free as TED Talks videos. A new TED Talk is posted every weekday. The Open Translation Project enables TED Talks to be subtitled by volunteers into more than 90 languages, and TED Talks are shared on TV, radio, Netflix and many websites.

The TEDx initiative grants free licenses to people around the world to organise TED-style events with live speakers in their communities. More than 5,000 TEDx events have been held, and selected talks from these events are also turned into TED Talks videos.

The annual TED Prize grants US$1 million to an exceptional individual with a wish to change the world. The TED Fellows program helps world-changing innovators from around the globe to become part of the TED community and, with its help, amplify the impact of their remarkable projects and activities. TED-Ed creates short video lessons, by pairing master teachers with animators, for use in classroom instruction or independent learning.

For more information, please visit TED's website or Facebook page, or follow TED on Twitter.

About TEDxErasmusUniversity
TEDxErasmusUniversityRotterdam will be held at the Centrale Bibliotheek Rotterdam on Thursday 05 October 2017. It will launch ideas worth spreading by exploring the theme “Building a Better World”. TEDxErasmusUniversityRotterdam will be an immersive experience. Our unique lineup of confirmed speakers will discuss a wide array of topics, ranging from the importance of libraries in the digital world, to understanding and forgiveness after being held hostage, to the “detective work” of neuroradiology. And since the audience is as extraordinary as the speakers, you will have many opportunities to mingle and network during the event.

Organizing team

PositionNameEmailRole
PresidentRicardo Pachecorpacheco@mba18.rsm.nlGeneral Manager
Vice-PresidentMarge Madrigalmmadrigal@mba18.rsm.nlCoordinator
Consulting CommitteeThiago Baiao
Danielle de la Mare
tbaiao@mba18.rsm.nl
ddelamare@mba18.rsm.nl
Consulting Board
Consulting Board
Marketing ManagementAshley Kresl
Marge Madrigal
akresl@mba18.rsm.nl
mmadrigal@mba18.rsm.nl
Manager
Support
Venue ManagementOlga Shirokova
Ricardo Pacheco
oshirokova@mba18.rsm.nl
rpacheco@mba18.rsm.nl
Manager
Support
Speaking & CoachingRicardo Pachecorpacheco@mba18.rsm.nlManager
Fund Raising TeamMarge Madrigal
Danielle de la Mare
Abhishek Govil
Ricardo Pacheco
Siddhartha Bhatnagar
mmadrigal@mba18.rsm.nl
ddelamare@mba18.rsm.nl
agovil@mba18.rsm.nl
rpacheco@mba18.rsm.nl
sbhatnagar@mba18.rsm.nl
Manager
Corporate
Corporate
Corporate
University Associations
Media & BrandingAsitav Sen
Govind Remesh
Krishna Teja
asen@mba18.rsm.nl
gremesh@mba18.rsm.nl
kchavali@mba18.rsm.nl
Brand Manager
Media Manager
Communications / Letters
Sales ManagementAshley Kresl
Ricardo Pacheco
akresl@mba18.rsm.nl
rpacheco@mba18.rsm.nl
Manager
Support
Finance ManagementShreyak Shahsshah@mba18.rsm.nlManager